I Ran From Montauk to Time square This Weekend šŸƒā€ā™‚ļø

Here is what I learned on that 18 hour journey.

The 131 mile route from Montauk to Times Square.

Hey Everyone!

I wanted to quickly say thank youā€¦ again.

This newsletter is a space where I can just share / almost journal the real reality of entrepreneurship, without all the fluff from Twitter and Linkedin.

Last week 900 of your shared the post. It goes a long way. The the fact that you read it, inspires me to keep sharing.

So truly, thank you

This Week We Will Cover 1 Thing.

1. Why I competed in a 131 mile race from Montauk To Time Square.

- Putting yourself in exceptional situations.
- It is only an experience if you push yourself.
- Words matter.

131 Miles From Montauk To Times Square.

You learn a lot about yourself when you jump into a last minute 131 race.

To be honest, I was scared.

When the @birthdayseries invited me to participate, I couldnā€™t turn down the memory.

I was not prepared at all.

But I did the mental math.

We have 6 people on my team. I wouldnā€™t be running that muchā€¦. right?

This is where I went numb. No more feeling. Just doing.

At 6am we met up and set out to Montauk to run this race.

It was at that very moment when I knew I did not sign up for just ANY race.

I signed up for a race with running legends.

Guys and girls who run miles comfortably under 6:30.
(For context, that is like doing 2 hours straight at level 10 on a tred)

Many participants completed multiple marathons, ultra marathons, one guy did a 300 mile raceā€¦ wt**!

I am supposed to compete here?

ā€” Race started ā€”

My first leg was a long stretch for me starting at 11:15pm.

Pitch black in the middle of the Montauk.

When we started running we were a few minutes behind the other team and I felt the pressure of making it that much worse by the time I was done.

After all, only 10 seconds less a mile and they could finish 2 hours ahead of us.

3 miles in and I was hurting.

5 miles in and I was getting very negative.

On the 6th mile the pace care drove buy and said

ā€œYOU ARE GAINING ON THEMā€ - ā€œYou are running at 7:00 a mileā€

I was running faster then I have EVER RUN beforeā€¦

ā€”
Once we hit the hour mark, I said to myself

ā€œI am doneā€

Right before I was about to quit a random car pulls up to the stop light ahead with the window down.

There was 0 cars on the road and I was not sure what to expect.

Turns out it was just an old lady in the middle of the Hamptons.

When I ran by she said ā€œI used to run, keep goingā€™ā€™ and honked her horn a few times.

I started to tear up.

ā€œHow lucky am I do be running right now?, to have amazing friends, a team of people taking care of me, wow I am luckyā€

I started to run even fasterā€¦

She was a humble reminder that if you can do something great, do it while you can.

Donā€™t wait for tomorrow. Get off the gram. Get off Tiktok. And go do you.

Towards the end of the race there was some TOUGH miles for me.

At this point I have already run more miles than I have ever run and have run faster than I have EVER RUN.

Less then a few hours of shut eye we just kept running.

After all, they say you only run a 100 mile race for the last five miles.

It was pure pain, speed, and agony.

My teammates where doing 20 mile + legs and running at speeds I didnā€™t know were humanly possible. It was inspiring to witness.

Back out I go, every step hurt more than the one before but I continued to repeat to myself.

ā€œWe donā€™t get tiredā€™
ā€œI feel outstandingā€

It worked.

It is only an experience if you push yourself.


So my questions to you are.

What are you grateful for this Sunday night?
What is one thing you will do this week to push yourself?
Ā 

We canā€™t share the final results of who won yet as the birthday series will be releasing it on youtube soon!
ā€”ā€”

This month of June is packed.

This week I am off to give a keynote with the DTCX crowd in LA.

Then Chris and I are hosting 2 back to back sold out dinners.

TBH. The dinners have been INCREDIBLE.

Dinner one is with over 20+ 100M founders.

NYC Dinners sold out, but we will open up a few more spots next week.

ā€”

See you next Sunday,
Love you all,
Aaron S.

Apply for the founders club community
^
Launching next week after LA.

Limiting it to 300 members to start. Apply via the link above.